Introductions

Introductions

Postby Landshark » Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:00 am

Hello everyone!

As you can see we moved to a new site. This will be the permanent home for GameDev4Beginners from here on out.

My name is Scott. I'm a beginner C# programmer and looking forward to working with other beginners here as well. I'm 31 and married. My Wife is 8 months pregnant with our first child and it's very exciting! I live near Seattle, WA, USA with my Wife and our dog (a boston terrier). If I'm ever on skype and you hear a ruckus in the background, that's probably my dog going crazy.

Anyway, I'm a big-time gamer and I believe I'm one of the oldest members so far, but I assure you (and my Wife would concur) that my maturity level is far below my age. :) I play just about anything, from PC games, console, handheld, smartphone, etc. I like to think of myself as an evenly-distributed gamer, having played text/mudd games, point-and-click story adventures, hardcore FPS action games, RPG's, MMO's, puzzlers, etc.

In regards to programming, I am focusing on C# at the moment and am learning how to create Windows Phone apps as well. As of this writing I'm in my 3rd week of a beginner C# class and fairly deep in a C# book ("Head First C#"). I've watched/followed numerous tutorials on C# as well. Basically I'm trying to jump in as best I can at learning C#. I have dabbled with javascript and python in the past, but never beyond the most basic level. However, I do have a firm grasp of XML/XAML, and a long history with SQL.